let the novelling begin.

1 November 2011 § Leave a comment

Determined to not think about my plot until I sat down at the computer on the first of November, I went out on Halloween instead of staring at the ceiling of my concrete room. I got to see the side of college I’m glad I never took part in when I was 19 or 20; drunks dressed up as TV sets and virgin playboy bunnies, pawing at each other, half-empty beers in hand. Or on the curb.

Someone played the recorder next to the foosball table. He had sheet music stapled to his clothes. I stood outside, sober, and looked in through the metal bars. There were some things I didn’t need to be a part of.

A cheap attempt at conversation and a cab ride later, I found myself at the Irish pub down the road, standing between a 1L mug of beer and a tico named Stan counting down from three. I had one minute to kill it.

This morning I got up early to have breakfast with my roommates, and to pay Mel back for buying me the Satyricon ticket. I told my mamatica about NaNoWriMo. At least, I think I did. That I was starting today. Thankfully, she didn’t ask what it was going to be about.

I’m one day in at 1726 words, which is more or less right on track. But I know there will be some days this month I won’t be near a computer, and those are the days I’ll have to fight to not fall behind.

I finished the beer in 44 seconds. May the novel tell as much.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

leave a reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading let the novelling begin. at Structured Roots.

meta

