i got mail.

3 November 2011 § Leave a comment

When I first arrived in Costa Rica, I gave a few people my mailing address, along with a note that if they sent me a package, don’t send anything expensive because the postal service opens them and charges for customs fees.

So I’m standing here at the school computer with a receipt that says I have a package waiting for me at the intimidating post office downtown, and I’m thrilled. I have no idea who it’s from, let alone what it is. It’s like getting a letter (a couple of which I’ve been writing, not wanting to send yet, because I have this odd habit of writing fifty-to-a-hundred-page long letters over the course of a couple of months, and then sending them, thinking them not complete without binding.

I’ve received a few that outshined mine in creativity, and surely stationery, but never sheer length (but let’s please not make the mistake of thinking that actually means anything). There’s only a few people I know who would take the time to write a letter like that – on paper, no less – and I’m glad to call them friends.

Tomorrow I’ll make the journey downtown, and practice my inquiry in Spanish the entire walk. Then, amongst the 10 a.m. drunks screaming about who-knows-what in the street, I’ll sit down in the crowded sort-of park which lies between the post office, which seems one of the largest buildings in town, and the rebuilt rich-people club, into which I will never gain admission, with my package, open it up like christmas morning, hoping that whoever sent it doesn’t mind that I’ve dropped out of contact, with a silent promise to send a letter in return for making me pay customs fees to bail their package out of prison.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

leave a reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading i got mail. at Structured Roots.

meta

