i did it. by golly. (nanowrimo, we’re square.)

30 November 2011 § Leave a comment

I hit fifty thousand words just a few hours before the deadline for NaNoWriMo 2011, and I did it writing about drinking gin and tonic in the English countryside.

I never named my main character. I knew I forgot something.

Anyway, my speech. ahem.

thank you Universidad Veritas for putting up with my hogging the public computers, the shitty imac you have in the office instead of the beautiful workstations you’ve got ProTools and every Adobe program ever made on. those I used at night, because I don’t have my own computer to write my novel on. But now the novel’s done, and after a month, it’s finally time to start doing my homework again. Which would be a really great idea, because I have four presentations and two 10-page papers due in the next week. I’ve been neglecting my friends and my non-friends with the same amount of disregard, and while I’m not proud of it, I did finish, and you can have me back again. Sometimes.

Thank you Nicaragua for giving me a break from writing and putting me 6,000 words behind, which I had to rush to catch up on despite the many beers in my way of doing so. To Eli and everyone else I’ve stood up to write instead, I’m sorry and thanks for your patience. I’m done now, and I can go sleep now. Maybe I’ll even come up with a summary for my novel so I don’t rattle off the disconnected plot in backwards jokes and album references trying to explain what it’s about. I don’t know what it’s about. But it’s something. And I did that something. For me.

 

Time to find a new project. But! homework first.

oh yes, and this, to make the thing official.

p.s. 50,000 words takes up 97 pages in ms word.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

leave a reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading i did it. by golly. (nanowrimo, we’re square.) at Structured Roots.

meta

