hitching the west!

30 September 2012 § 3 Comments

I’ve long suffered the 127 Hours syndrome of leaving without telling anyone where I’m going, or that I’m going at all. Luckily, I’ve not yet had to cut my arm off to get myself out of a perilous situation (knock on wood, or something else, to deflect that reality). So. This is at once my practice for leaving a note when I bound off for a new adventure:

Today I’ll be off from Santa Fe, New Mexico, headed for Portland. There’s a car, a boat, and a girl waiting for my return. Should the road gods allow me safe passage, I’ll be there by the end of the week. It’ll be the longest one-shot hitchhiking trip I’ve ever done. The day is beautiful, and my backpack and I are ready to Go. The idea is to avoid interstates until necessary, explore more of the West, and figure out where I’m headed next, and why.

My attempt, however negligent, to attend Evergreen State College was a bust, for scheduling and financial reasons, so university will have to wait a while longer. I’ve applied for a writing fellowship with the Attic Institute in Portland. It starts on Monday, however, and no decision has been made yet. I’m full of trust that this pilgrimage to the pacific northwest will be exactly what it needs to be, in the fashion of Burning Man and good life, and that there I will find what I need to – either a place to Be for a while, to develop some skills that travel makes difficult to master (firespinning is my newest love), or a spark for a new place to Go.

The trip began well yesterday, as the train delivered me to a flurry of social activity when my intention was to sit with a beer and a pen and see what happened. Today, only the sun knows. See you out there.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to hitching the west!

  • J Davidson says:

    Safe travels, sojourner. It was good to meet you. Stay warm and dry.

  • With this kind of incredibly crucial info, you will find now
    a number of parents and physicians which might be re-evaluating
    the root problem from the ADHD labels and symptoms.

    This is really important so to get the young children off of the ADHD
    drugs, unless it’s definitely essential for handful of “Real” ADHD diagnoses which are genuine.

leave a reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading hitching the west! at Structured Roots.

meta

