NaNoWriMo 2012: Apocalypse

1 November 2012 § Leave a comment

November is here!

Translation: it’s time to undertake the challenge of writing a novel in 30 days. Again.

Last year I scooted past 50,000 words a few minutes before midnight on the 30th of the month, plugging away at a school computer at Universidad Veritas in Costa Rica. I had no computer of my own, was in university full-time, and had all of Central America with which to distract myself. On good days I consider this a fine accomplishment.

So fine, in fact, that I’m going to do it again – with a computer of my own, and without anything to distract me (the Pacific Northwest notwithstanding). At the moment I am 1110 words in. To stay on track for the minimum word count (5ok), I have to average 1667 words a day. And there’s a poetry slam at the Blue Monk tonight. Damn it.

Happy Halloween, happy autumn, etc. It’s time to write the story that’s been swirling in my mind since Panama. It might hurt. It might offend. It must get out of me.

If I don’t return an email this month, or am absent from facebook and other social vacuums, forgive me. Or don’t. I’m doing something important. That’s what I’m telling myself, anyway.

Here we go.

Tagged: , ,

leave a reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading NaNoWriMo 2012: Apocalypse at Structured Roots.

meta

