happy new everything

6 January 2013 § Leave a comment

The bathroom door slammed hard. I didn’t mean to do it. It was just loud. I walked to the mirror. I saw the toilet, the bathtub, the lovely tile floor in perfect incandescent lighting, all in watery ripples. It took a moment to realize that I was there. That I was happy. I smiled at the me in the mirror, and thought of the dance floor at the Portland Art Museum. The stilt-walkers playing trumpets. The feather headdresses and sequin trench coats. Rubber bodies bending backwards in a break dance to the March Fourth Marching band. I remembered the line at the door of the secret library, where they brought you in, sat you in a chair, and played beautiful music and lights next to your face, Clockwork Orange-style. Until you got the way they wanted you.

I saw a man dancing in the bathroom through the glass. He looked happy. Maybe brainwashed. Then he walked out of the bathroom and back into his bliss.

Tagged: , , ,

leave a reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading happy new everything at Structured Roots.

meta

